RePassioning Fashion: Time well spent

In November 2016 I set myself a goal of getting a collection together and selling the clothes to raise funds for the Saturday Biryani Party here in the Kingdom of Bahrain.

I discovered that I loved this process, particularly the feeling of accomplishment I get when you make something, someone likes it and they buy it.  I found this a hard dream to give up and so back in the UK I’ve been gathering the raw materials to put together another collection.  My lovely (and long-suffering) sister Sandra has been understanding as her house has gradually taken in the stock of local charity shops. At times a Chinese laundry, occasionally the distribution hub.  Thank you.

Recycling, upcycling, re-loving is my theme this year.  I find it hard to know the correct term, what constitutes what in this world.  I’ve decided that I am RePassioning Fashion, I love clothes and so re-loving clothes and giving them new lives works for me. Where it’s deserved I use the term vintage. I’ve bought some lovely scarves and linens and I think they deserve a higher price tag; I’ve noticed that the term vintage indicates a certain level of wear that is treasured and people pay more for.  These items come from a more elegant era.  People kept things for ‘best’.  I love thinking about a tea with a linen table cloth or my Aunt Kath with her beautiful outfits finished off with a silk scarf, worn really well.  Its getting harder to find them and I love imagining their past lives.IMG_9817

I’ve learned that this is exciting to do for the very reason it is hard to do.  I’m taking a risk by getting all of the stuff made, arranging the shop, asking people to come and support the endeavour.  Making a commitment to the date for the sale was hard, I don’t really like to plan too far ahead.  However the commitment creates the focus.  I saw this quotation “Deadlines are productivity lifelines” and for me this is true.  I make better choices when I’m up against a time crunch.

I’ve only got two weeks to pull together a lot of ideas.  I need to juggle the production, the marketing and to STOP myself from spinning out other ideas.  This project is an intense experience of my habits, both helpful and distracting.

A friend who supported me with a business idea used to tolerate me going ‘off point’ but at some point in every call it got too much for him. Our calls generally ended with “Jill you have to focus, all of this other stuff must stop!” and then he would repeat “focus focus focus, Jill”.  So when I find myself drifting off course I use his word in his Argentinian accent, “This is not good Jeeeeellee, you really must fockus.  Fockus, Fockus, Focus”.  Thank you Clemens, I think it’s working for me this time.

Bahrain is an extraordinary place to do something like this, people work best informally.  Words Bookstore Cafe are providing the space again, Pennie, Mier and Tanzeel have put up with my stuff spilling into their lives and have been generous with their hospitality and their unwavering support.  Expat life creates bonds that last, I’ve had people bringing shirts and scarves to Bahrain in their baggage allowances, thanks Simon, Hils and Debbie. Tanzeel has acted as my interpreter and Majid’s performance coach which has meant that 70 shirts were ready for when I got here.  I never imagined working remotely would work, but because of Tanzeel it did.  Before this turns into an Oscars speech I will sign off.  So many people have helped, thank you and let’s hope it will be worth all of our efforts.

Thanks to the workers who inspired me to get off my backside and focus, they have no idea they’ve been my inspiration.  Thanks to them for their spirit and their wonderful way of putting together colour palettes that I love.

My shop opens on Thursday 30 November with an evening ‘launch’ and continues for a further two days.  I look forward to seeing some of you there.  And for my customers in Australia and the UK thanks for your support, you know who you are xx

Leave a comment